Adventure Time: The Complete Fourth Season Blu-ray Review

     Format: Multiple Formats, Animated, Color, NTSC, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Studio: Cartoon Network
  • Release Date: October 7, 2014
  • Run Time: 286 minutes



            “Adventure Time” is in that new category of animation on the cartoon network which I find confounding, albeit remarkably entertaining. It seems as though this is a straightforward kid’s show, but it gets remarkably close to being edgy enough for adults at moments. There is always a ripcord to pull, quickly pulling the narrative back to safety in time for the episode’s close, but watching this show with children present often makes me nervous. Perhaps this is partly due to the high octane, bizarre, and often psychedelic nature of the show which makes me feel as though I’m on drugs.


            The story follows the adventures and misadventures of a human boy named Finn and his brother, a dog named Jake. Finn was adopted by Jake’s parents and they roam the magical land looking for adventures. Along the way they come across a number of regular supporting characters, both good and evil. The villains include Marceline the vampire and the Ice King, and their main ally and adventure companion is Princess Bubblegum. Understanding who these characters are or what they want is unnecessary for the enjoyment of the show, as they are ten minute segments likely to feel fast-paced by even the most attention deficient viewers.


            I could talk about the specifics in the plot development of season four, but nothing much really seems to change in the world of “Adventure Time.” The one difference from season to season is the introduction of new characters, which there is plenty of in the fourth season, beginning with the introduction of Flame Princess. Fans love to tout this season as one of the show’s best, because of the character development in the show. I think this may be a stretch and mostly only apparent when comparing to the narratives of earlier seasons. Even in episodes that seem to strive for more than irreverence, such as “I Remember You,” ten minutes is hardly enough to do more than briefly touch upon sentimentality.


            All twenty-six season four episode are included on the single-disc Blu-ray, along with a few special features. There is a featurette about the music in the show, as well as commentaries on episodes.


    Entertainment Value: 7/10

    Quality of Filmmaking: 7/10

    Historical Significance:  7/10

    Special Features: 5.5/10

    Follow Real Movie News on Facebook and Twitter



    No comments: