100 Streets Blu-ray Review

  • Actors: Idris Elba, Gemma Arterton, Ryan Gage
  • Director: Jim O'Hanlon
  • Disc Format: AC-3, Dolby, Subtitled, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, Spanish
  • Region: Region A/1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: Not Rated
  • Studio: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment
  • Release Date: March 7, 2017
  • Run Time: 94 minutes



        In a tired formula hindered further by emotional manipulation and melodrama, 100 Streets is a frustratingly pedestrian take on the interconnecting lives of several unrelated characters living in a square mile of London. While the opportunity for representing diversity in a small section of a metropolis city is available, the narrative in Leon F. Butler’s screenplay instead prefers contrivances resembling soap opera material. Even a solid cast can’t save the film from feeling like a bad Crash rip-off, never coming close to the casual ease with which Robert Altman utilized this story structure.

The Mama’s Family Favorites Collection DVD Review


  • Language: English
  • Number of discs: 6
  • Rated: Not Rated
  • Studio: Time Life/WEA
  • DVD Release Date: March 7, 2017





        “Mama’s Family” originally began as a sketch known as ‘The Family’ on “The Carol Burnett Show,” recurring for much of the eleven seasons that it was on air. Burnett herself was originally intended to play Mama Harper, but preferred the supporting role of Eunice and instead suggested Vicki Lawrence. Lawrence, despite only being in her early 30s, played the older matriarch in her 60s with such success that it led to a standalone spin-off series from 1983 to 1990 (primarily in syndication). There had actually been offers to make the series as early as 1975, but Lawrence was hesitant to appear disloyal to “The Carol Burnett,” and only agreed years later at the suggestion of Burnett herself.

Kendra on Top: The Complete Fourth and Fifth Seasons DVD Review

  • Actors: Kendra Wilkinson
  • Format: Box set, Color, NTSC, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Region: Region 1
  • Number of discs: 4
  • Rated: Not Rated
  • Studio: MPI HOME VIDEO
  • DVD Release Date: March 7, 2017
  • Run Time: 743 minutes




        Does anyone really expect quality television from Kendra Wilkinson? The former Playboy model made her name by being the live-in girlfriend (one of three) for Hugh Hefner, which made her a reality TV pseudo-celebrity. It was enough to get her two consecutive standalone reality series and appearances as a contestant on countless others, despite the fact that she doesn’t have any talent or much personality. Actually, I retract that. She has plenty of personality, but it just happens to be very ugly in contrast to her looks.

Man Down Blu-ray Review

  • Actors: Kate Mara, Shia LaBeouf, Jai Courtney, Gary Oldman, Clifton Collins Jr.
  • Director: Dito Montiel
  • Disc Format: AC-3, DTS Surround Sound, NTSC, Subtitled, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, Spanish
  • Region: Region A/1
  • Rated: R
  • Studio: LIONSGATE
  • Release Date: March 7, 2017
  • Run Time: 90 minutes




        I am typically quite adamant about not including any spoilers in my reviews of films, but I’m afraid that the only way to truly point out what is wrong with Man Down is by revealing the truth about the largest twist in the narrative. This revelation is also the only way to convey the main theme and apparent point of the story, which remains hidden by a silly and convoluted mystery for much of the run time. Even simply saying that this is a film about PTSD will likely give away the truth about the post-apocalyptic section of the narrative, while most are likely to be too irritated by the manipulation for the intended message to have any real impact once revealed.

3 Classic Films by Claude Chabrol Blu-ray Review

  • Actors: Isabelle Huppert, Marie Trintignant, Emmanuaelle Beart
  • Director: Claude Chabrol
  • Language: French
  • Subtitles: English
  • Region: Region A/1
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.66:1
  • Number of discs: 3
  • Rated: Not Rated
  • Studio: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment
  • Release Date: February 21, 2017
  • Run Time: 310 minutes




        Claude Chabrol was a highly significant name in French cinema for half a century, even contributing to the legendary Cahiers du Cinéma during its peak in the 1950s. Among these contributions was a critical analysis of Alfred Hitchcock’s work (co-authored by Eric Rohmer), which clearly influenced his own work throughout his career. Although the mysteries within this triple feature are far from traditional, there are still influences of Hitchcock to be found. Each of these films was also made in the 1990s, despite this set being listed as “3 Classic Films.” I suppose one could consider them modern classics, even if they belong to his later phase of filmmaking. If nothing else, these films highlight Chabrol’s ability to discover and cast enigmatic young female stars, who often went on to achieve international success.

Contract to Kill Blu-ray Review

  • Actors: Steven Seagal, Russell Wong, Jemma Dallender
  • Director: Keoni Waxman
  • Disc Format: NTSC, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Region: Region A/1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: R
  • Studio: Lionsgate
  • Release Date: February 28, 2017
  • Run Time: 90 minutes




        If you are wondering how Steven Seagal continues to make movies, despite being too lazy or out of shape to ever utilize the skills that once made him famous, blame filmmaker Keoni Waxman. The last eight films that Waxman has directed were all poorly made action films starring Seagal, impressive only for the level of incompetence across nearly every aspect of their production. Someone must be making money off of this garbage, because there seems to be no passion behind any of the filmmaking. Contract to Kill may be the worst one yet, but I honestly can’t remember much more than the ineptitude from my viewing of the previous collaborations between the pair.

Moonlight Blu-ray Review

  • Actors: Naomie Harris, Trevante Rhodes, Janelle Monae, Mahershala Ali
  • Director: Barry Jenkins
  • Format: NTSC, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Region: Region A/1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: R
  • Studio: Lionsgate
  • Release Date: February 28, 2017
  • Run Time: 111 minutes




        Moonlight is everything that an independent film should be, focusing on the intimacy of characters and a story normally unseen onscreen. I was not at all surprised to see it sweep the Independent Spirit Awards, though somehow I doubt that it would have done so well this award season if it weren’t for last year’s “Oscars-so-white” controversy and the political turmoil that less than two months of a Donald Trump presidency has caused. This is to say nothing of the quality of the film, but I imagine Moonlight will be better known for being a part of the largest mistake in Academy Award history than anything in the film itself. Don’t get me wrong; it is a beautiful and well-made film, but it is also a film far easier to appreciate than it is to love. The praise for this film feels more like a statement supporting what it represents far more than a celebration of the film itself. Then again, I also don’t see Spotlight as having a lasting impact on film history either. Sometimes the underdog wins; I just don’t understand why this couldn’t have happened the years that Lord of the Rings and Titanic won best picture.

2017 Oscar Predictions



Real Movie News and Flix 66 presents 2017 Oscar predictions, featuring Dr. Thomas Parham and Ryan Izay

Why The Great Wall Whitewashing Accusations Are Wrong





        We live in the age of perpetual internet anger. As well as making information easier to access, there is a seemingly endless stream of outrage about one thing or another on social media. Although this can be a useful tool, those who are quick to react without first obtaining all of the fact can end up looking like the tool. Online fervor over the casting of Matt Damon in the Chinese fantasy epic, The Great Wall, is the latest casualty of casual internet stupidity. Allow me to take the time to inform the indignant of their ignorance.

Alien: Covenant crew photo released

 Introducing the ALIEN: COVENANT crew. Check out the new photo below from the upcoming film, then watch Legion on FX tomorrow, February 22, for an exclusive Alien: Covenant debut.
 
 
 

Grace and Frankie: Season Two DVD Review

  • Actors: Jane Fonda, Lily Tomlin, Martin Sheen, Sam Waterston, June Diane Raphael
  • Directors: Dean Parisot, Rebecca Asher, Trent O'Donnell, Arlene Sanford, Andy Ackerman
  • Disc Format: Box set, Color, NTSC, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Region: Region 1
  • Number of discs: 3
  • Studio: Lionsgate
  • DVD Release Date: February 21, 2017
  • Run Time: 389 minutes




        “Grace and Frankie” is another example of an original Netflix show willing to break from the norm, both in the tackling of LGTBQ issues and featuring the sex lives of characters that aren’t in their 20s or 30s. As refreshing as it was to see a television show that wasn’t afraid to center on four characters in the twilight of their life, not to mention the acceptance of all sexual preferences, “Grace and Frankie” seemed like a single-season premise. Watching the first season drag out its simple idea often had me wondering if it would have made for a better film than series, and I definitely had concerns that they would not be able to stretch the material out for another season. Not only did they make a second season, there is also a third on the way. Although I was right about the initial premise wearing thin, the title characters are pushed in new directions this season.

Manchester by the Sea Blu-ray Review

  • Actors: Casey Affleck, Michelle Williams, Kyle Chandler, Lucas Hedges
  • Director: Kenneth Lonergan
  • Format: Color, NTSC, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Region: Region A/1
  • Number of discs: 2
  • Rated: R
  • Studio: Lionsgate
  • Release Date: February 21, 2017
  • Run Time: 137 minutes





        The problem with seeing films after they have received their critical and award-season hype comes mostly from the expectations held by audience members. This probably explains a majority of the backlash against this season’s biggest winner thus far, La La Land, and it definitely affected the way I perceived Manchester by the Sea. Even though I saw this film long before nominations began coming out, there was something else that affected my perception of the film: the marketing. Yes, I had expectations built up because of high critical praise (award nominations had not yet been announced when I first watched the film), but even more misleading was the trailers I had seen depicting a feel-good indi film. I realize the marketing department did not want to spoil certain plot developments (which I will also avoid in this review), but the trailer also misleads audiences into thinking the tone of the film was far lighter than it actually is.

Bad Santa 2 Blu-ray Review

  • Actors: Billy Bob Thornton, Kathy Bates, Tony Cox
  • Director: Mark Waters
  • Format: Dubbed, Subtitled, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, Spanish
  • Dubbed: Spanish
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: R/Unrated
  • Studio: Broad Green Pictures
  • Release Date: February 21, 2017
  • Run Time: 94 minutes




        I’m certainly glad that we didn’t have to wait an entire year for the home entertainment release of Bad Santa 2, which is often the case for holiday films released theatrically during that season. It makes logical sense, as few people are likely to rush out to buy and rent a Christmas movie in February, but that kind of delay would have built up the anticipation unnecessarily. I enjoyed the first film immensely and was somewhat disappointed to miss this sequel in the theaters. I was even more disappointed when I finally did see it, but it would have been much worse had I been forced to wait until next holiday season.

Before I Fall | New Clip


Zoey Deutch breaks hearts in a new clip from director Ry-Russo Young's BEFORE I FALL. Based on the best-selling young adult novel by Lauren Oliver, the critical hit and fan favorite from the 2017 Sundance Film Festival starring Deutch alongside Halston Sage, Kian Lawley, Cynthy Wu, Medalion Rahimi opens in theaters March 3rd.

LOGAN | NEW Limited-Edition Comic-Artist Posters Released

LOGAN hits theaters everywhere on March 3, 2017!
 

 

Terrence Malick's Song To Song Trailer Release



London Town DVD Review

  • Actors: Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Daniel Huttlestone
  • Director: Derrick Borte
  • Format: Color, NTSC, Subtitled, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English
  • Region: Region 1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: R
  • Studio: MPI HOME VIDEO
  • DVD Release Date: February 14, 2017
  • Run Time: 93 minutes




        As a typical coming of age film set in the world of rock n’ roll, specifically the 1970s punk scene in England, London Town is like a British Almost Famous, with far less charm and a more predictable narrative. The biggest difference is the inclusion of real rock icons in the fabricated narrative, as opposed to a fictional band based on Cameron Crowe’s real experiences as a young journalist. Even with a character based on a real person, London Town often feels more like fantasy than reality. Specifically, it feels like the dream of a young punk fan who has never grown out of the obsession, imagining that their favorite star might show up to save the day when needed most.

Dean: First Trailer Released

 

Come What May Blu-ray Review

  • Actors: August Diehl, Oliver Gourmet, Mathilde Seigner
  • Director: Christian Carion
  • Disc Format: Subtitled, Widescreen
  • Language: French
  • Subtitles: English
  • Region: Region A/1
  • Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1
  • Rated: R
  • Studio: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment
  • Release Date: February 7, 2017
  • Run Time: 114 minutes




        Come What May is evidence that there is no shortage of narratives from World War II to be told or of national cinemas willing to repeatedly dip into this well for creative inspiration. French filmmaker Christian Carion returns to the war genre with the same sentimentality utilized in his World War I drama, Joyeux Noel, though this endeavor feels a bit more contrived and leans heavier on the fictional details than his past effort. World War II and the French exodus during German occupation simply serve as backdrop for the intimate melodrama of a father in search of his son. Even though there is historical information within the film, this is a film that uses real events for its narrative rather than one based upon factual events.

A Cure for Wellness Review





        If ambitious vision was all I was tasked to review, A Cure for Wellness would receive extremely high marks. The scope of the film is astounding, from the pristine visual style to the boldly indulgent 146-minute run time. It is rare to see a genre film made by a studio with this much faith in the filmmaker’s vision, especially one released in the first quarter of the year. Unfortunately, while the visual style of the film excels, the narrative is often less satisfying. And although the length was brave, I began to question the studio’s faith in Gore Verbinski by the end of the often redundant tale.